The Best of John Bellairs – John Bellairs 1998


  • Author: John Bellairs
  • Publisher: Dial Books, 1998
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Condition: Fine
  • Size: 8vo
  • Attributes: Dust Jacket, Illustrated

First edition, later printing. A collection of three Bellair’s Tales: The House with a Clock in Its Walls; The Figure in the Shadows; The Letter, the Witch, and the Ring. Illustrated by Edward Gorey.

Binding tight, internally fine, unmarked. Fine in Fine DJ.

The House with a Clock in Its Walls; The Figure in the Shadows and The Letter, the Witch, and the Ring are three magically eerie tales gathered in this one-volume edition. The series opens as Lewis Barnavelt, a newly orphaned ten-year-old, comes to live with his Uncle Johnathan. Little does Lewis know that Uncle Johnathan and his next-door neighbor, Mrs. Zimmerman are witches. Lewis finds that he himself owns magical powers, and soon is thrust in a supernatural battle between good and evil. The second tale focuses on Grampa Barnavelt’s old coin. Lewis thinks the coin is an amulet, but when he starts to wear it around his neck, bizarre things start to happen – and not all of them good. The last tale shifts the focus to thirteen-year-old Rose Rita, who is embittered because she cannot go to camp like Lewis. so Mrs. Zimmerman offers Rita an adventure of her own. But when a magical ring disappears, Rita gets more of an adventure than she bargained for. John Bellair’s vivid characterization and and excruciatingly suspenseful plots make this series a thrilling ride!

Scroll to Top
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap