Brian Jacques Biography

Last Updated on

Brian Jacques – British author, 1939-2011

brian jacques
Brian Jacques

A series of fantasy novels about the animals that live in and around Redwall Abbey has propelled author Brian Jacques to international success with read­ers of all ages, Born in Liverpool, England, James Brian Jacques attended local Catholic schools until he became a sailor at age fifteen. He also worked as a longshoreman, truck driver, radio broadcaster, and professional comedian.

His first book was written to enter­tain the students at a school for the blind. Redwall (1986) concerns a community of field animals that join together to fight off an invad­ing army of rats. The plot contains many stan­dard fantasy elements, including the quest for a legendary sword, an awkward young hero who discovers the secret of his heritage, and the om­nipresent war between good and evil.

The sec­ond book in the series. Mossflower (1988), goes back in time to tell the story of Martin the Warrior, the original mouse hero of Redwall Ab­bey Mattimeo (1989), Muriel of Redwall (1991), Salamandaston (1993), and Martin the Warrior (1994) record the history of preceding and suc­ceeding generations. Some readers may find the novels too long and involved, but fantasy fans enjoy every page of the often thrilling adven­tures, which include detailed descriptions of battles and sumptuous feasts.

Brian Jacques’s Redwall stories have become a pub­lishing phenomenon; each new volume is re­leased to much publicity and fanfare, and sales instantly place it on bestseller lists. Although the author has proved his diversity with a collection of scary stories, Seven Strange and Ghostly Tales (1991), as well as Castaways of the Flying Dutch­man (2000), a richly textured reimagining of die famous “phantom ship” legend, he remains best known for his impressive multivolume fan­tasy.


Source: Children’s Books and their Creators, Anita Silvey.

Brian Jacques Books

Redwall series
  1. Redwall (1986)
  2. Mossflower (1988)
  3. Mattimeo (1989)
  4. Mariel of Redwall (1991)
  5. Salamandastron (1992)
  6. Martin the Warrior (1993)
  7. The Bellmaker (1994)
  8. Outcast of Redwall (1995)
  9. The Pearls of Lutra (1996)
  10. The Long Patrol (1997)
  11. Marlfox (1998)
  12. The Legend of Luke (1999)
  13. Lord Brocktree (2000)
  14. The Taggerung (2001)
  15. Triss (2002)
  16. Loamhedge (2003)
  17. Rakkety Tam (2004)
  18. High Rhulain (2005)
  19. Eulalia! (2007)
  20. Doomwyte (2008)
  21. The Sable Quean (2010)
  22. The Rogue Crew (2011) (posthumous)
Tribes of Redwall series
  • Tribes of Redwall Badgers (2001)
  • Tribes of Redwall Otters (2001)
  • Tribes of Redwall Mice (2003)
  • Tribes of Redwall Squirrels (Unreleased)
  • Tribes of Redwall Hares (Unreleased)
Miscellaneous Redwall books
  • The Great Redwall Feast (1996)
  • Redwall Map & Riddler (1997)
  • Redwall Friend & Foe (2000)
  • A Redwall Winter’s Tale (2003)
  • The Redwall Cookbook (2005)
redwall - Biran Jacques 1986
Redwall. Biran Jacques. First edition, 1986.
Castaways of the Flying Dutchman series
  • Castaways of the Flying Dutchman (2001)
  • The Angel’s Command (2003)
  • Voyage of Slaves (2006)
Urso Brunov
  • The Tale of Urso Brunov: Little Father of All Bears (2003)
  • Urso Brunov and the White Emperor (2008)
Other works
  • Seven Strange and Ghostly Tales (1991)
  • The Ribbajack & Other Curious Yarns (2004)
brian jacques
Scroll to Top
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap