The Wit of Oscar Wilde – Merlin Holland 2008 | Folio Society


  • Author: Oscar Wilde, Merlin Holland editor
  • Publisher: Folio Society, London, 2008
  • Binding: Hardcover
  • Condition: Fine
  • Size: 8vo
  • Attributes: Illustrated

Folio Society, 2008. Illustrated by Ian Archie Beck. Binding tight, internally fine, unmarked. Slip case has minor dent at the bottom and light scuffing marks. Fine in Near Fine slip case.

The selection of Oscar Wilde’s work in this edition are: Hélas!(1881), Essays (Personal Impressions of America (1883), A Handbook to Marriage (1885), The American Invasion (1887), from The Decay of Lying (1889), from The Soul of Man under Socialism (1891), Poem: The Harlot’s House (1885).

The Stories included in this edition are: from The Canterville Ghost (1887), The Selfish Giant (1888), The Nightingale and the Rose (1888), The Remarkable Rocket (1888) and Poem: Silentium Amoris (1881). Also included is an extract from ‘The Picture of Dorian Gray (1890) and a poem: Désespoir (1908). The extracts from Plays included in this edition are: Salomé (1894), Lady Windermeres Fan (1892), A Woman of No Importance (1893), An Ideal Husband (1895), The Importance of Being Ernest (1898) and a poems: To L.L. (1885). At the end of the book are extracts from De Profundis (1897) and from The Ballad of Reading Gaol (1898).

Scroll to Top
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap